Restoring an old photograph

questions about practical use of Neat Image
fractalbit

Restoring an old photograph

Post by fractalbit »

I am AMAZED with this software. I had a very bad old image that was printed in a weird papar with some pattarns. So beside some noise from the scan the image contained those patterns that i thought i would never be able to get rid of them. I was wrong! I passed the original image 5 times from neat image and after some adjustments in photoshop here are the results :

I know this is may not the best i could do but i am not very experienced with phtoshop. Anyway i am really amazed from the neat image software. Congratulations!

You can see some more exaples in this thread :

http://www.dpgr.gr/forum/index.php?boar ... 37;start=0

The forum is in greek but the images speak for themselves (they are crops from the full images, to not alter the characteristics from the resize)
andewid

Post by andewid »

Good example. However I think she looks a little to plastic. I tried to made my own version =)

greenup

Re: Restoring an old photograph

Post by greenup »

fractalbit wrote:... I had a very bad old image that was printed in a weird paper with some patterns...
I have come across this print type (with the hexagons) before myself; it is VERY annoying. I had once heard that there was an image processing tool that was designed to specifically deal with this pattern, but I have never found it.

Neat image does a fair job on this problem, if you push at it a lot. Unfortunately, that frequently means pushing it too hard and getting "plasticy" results.